Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Reflections on a year gone by

well here we are....
another year gone by, memories created and events happy and sad.
whenever a year ends, we must step back and remember all of these things and what we learned from them. Even the most negative events offer lessons to be learned.
such as......relationships that were once great getting torn apart by time and by growing apart. it is no one persons fault that this happens but we learn from it no matter how much it hurts us.
and speaking of relationships and of family, I have had new developments in that area as well.
such as this weekend when I traveled to New York to meet cousins from my mom's side of the family that I have not seen since I was a baby.
what do you say to someone who you have heard about all your life and who you know only from the pictures that you see and stories? I was faced with this issue but I seem to have handled it well and I think that they liked me. I hope that they don't become strangers again and fade back into the fabric of life and of family history. I wish I was closer to the family members that I have known since forever. somehow whenever I visit my New York cousins I never feel like I truly belong amongst them. I wish this was not the case and that they treated me like an equal and not like that immature person who comes to visit once every three months and who they are always glad to see leave. That is one thing I want to work on next year. showing these people that I am not that immature girl anymore and that they can trust me and treat me like an equal. I strengthened a lot of friendships this year such as my friendships with A and M and with the guys from the Wallingford group. even though I can't make it down there for as many dvd nights and meetings as I would like, I am really grateful to these guys for providing me with friendship and accepting me when no one else would.

so here's to a great New Year filled with adventures and new lessons to be learned.

Cheers!

Saturday, October 3, 2009

NYC Baby!!!

so....here I am in New York New York, the capital of the world. I feel like everyone else must be out and about enjoying the city after dark. Basking in the bright glow of the Times Square lights, going out to see shows that they can't really afford to see but not really caring.

On the subject of shows, I tried to buy tickets for Next To Normal ( which according to most of the girls on the Idina message boards is a great show). I went to buy them at the TKTS kiosk on broadway. I was offered a pair of tickets costing 75 bucks each. and get this.....for an obstructed view!! the guy said we were only going to miss three short parts but I don't get to see shows like this often and I don't have money to see it again so I did not want to miss any part if the show.

Long story short, we went to the Met instead to see the Vermeer exhibit. I was mad and jealus of course at the begnning. Mad because I was not going to be able to see the show that I had heard so much about, and jealus because some other girl was there seeing it. But I had a great time at the museum nonetheless.

After our adventure in the city, which included some mishaps on the subway, we made it to our cousin's house. and that is where I am now.

I wish I was brave enough to hop on that subway and go out and see the glitter of Times Square and at least see the crowds of excited theatregoers at stage-doors.

that is the view from here tonight.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Life Stinks and then you wake up

so here I am....2:53 on a Wednesday afternoon, hanging out at the library killing time before attending another Intermediate Algebra class. We have a test today ( unless our professor changes it). I think I am ready but I am still nervous. will those dreaded word problems be on there? will I have to solve systems by graphing? one doesn't know.
on the topic of things one does not know.....what is up with generic medications?
I tried the generic verison of the ADHD drug that I am on and disaster resulted. Apparently, something there is different which is causing me to act all screwy and depressed. hating it but I go to the doctor next week.

Social Skills tonight with M, A, and company. will bitch about my messed up emotions there.
Glee later tonight....amazing how TV can turn around one's mood, especially a TV show with music on it.

so off I go.....back into the crazy, mixed up world that I call home.

till tomorrow,
this is the view from here